CIU111: Week 2

Social media is one of the most important things in the world of business. To get traffic flowing through the company or even to spread the word about the business. This could be promoting my work or even promoting myself to potential clients or employers.

With this in my mind choosing a platform/s is going to be hard. As there are so many out there like:

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
  • SoundCloud
  • Vimeo
  • Linkedin
  • YouTube
  • Behance

Facebook is a great platform as a starting point as there are over 1.94 billion monthly active users to potentially reach and showcase my work to. This platform is very easy to use and portable of a tablet/smart phone and can be updated where ever I am in the world. The items listed above are very similar to Facebook but still have their differences like layout, how portable and many more.

For a graphic designer the list below is some of the main sites I should focus on to gain a following and to create a community.

  • Facebook
  • Google+
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
  • YouTube
  • Behance

Click here to read more on A Social Media Guide for Graphic Designers.

The platforms that I am going to use are Facebook, Instagram, Behance, Linkedin and YouTube (maybe?) some these are the most used platforms by many companies and the public.

Here are links to my Social Media profiles.

The platforms chosen are easy to use and simple to setup and update when ever and where ever I want. My main goal with the above social media links is to showcase my work not only in graphic design but also in photography.

References:
  • Creativeprocom. (2015, 15 May 2015). Social Media Guide For Graphic Designers – CreativeProcom. [Weblog]. Retrieved 13 June 2017. In-text citation: (Creativeprocom, 2015)

  • Google Image: Social Media Icons
