CIU111: Week 4

What is copyright?

“The exclusive right to make copies, license, and otherwise exploit a literary, musical, or artistic work, whether printed, audio, video, etc.:  works granted such right by law on or after January 1, 1978, are protected for the lifetime of the author or creator and for a period of 70 years after  his or her death.” (Dictionarycom, 2017)

With doing photography since 2014, I have always had something eating at the back of my mind about copyright.  The below picture is one of mine and with not knowing about copyright I was worried that this one and many others will be used with out my permission or even if they get used will not get any recognition for them.

Cupcake (Edited)

After doing some research about copyright and asking previous job bosses and current bosses, I found out that copyright is automatically applied to all my photos and designs with what ever I do.

This gave me some assurance that they will not be used without my permission. But after finding out that, I thought to protect my photos, even more, placing a water mark on it. This should stop my audience from taking them and using them for want they want. This watermark will make it hard to copy/download as the placement will not ruin the photo but cropping it will ruin any part that is taken out.

An example of one below that I have recently taken shows what I have done and where it is placed.

Wellington Point Jetty

You can see in the bottom right corner there is the logo of my photography portfolio. But after doing that I wanted to know how long will copyright will last on my work. Most of the sites I read said that copyright lasts for my whole life plus 70 years after the year I die.

I have not experienced any contracts with my work but there could be some with all the designs I do myself at work. Even though I did them the company owns the work and I own get recognition by the staff at the company, not the clients we do work for.

References:
